Open navigation menu

Altron Systems Integration

奥科的 WebRTC 解决方案可为基于 Genesys 的服务台座席提供高质量和可靠的语音通信

背景

总部位于南非的 Altron Systems Integration 是一家专业的供应商,利用世界一流的技术和领先的实践来架构、实施和支持可持续的基于 ICT 的业务解决方案,这些解决方案具有战略一致性,符合目标,具有成本效益,并对性能进行了优化。

欲了解更多信息,请访问 Altron 公司网站

挑战

Altron System Integration 的主要活动领域之一是为数家企业客户的员工运营外包 IT 服务台。服务台业务运行在 Genesys PureEngage 内部的联络中心基础架构之上,并在 Altron 位于约翰内斯堡的办公室雇佣了大约 180 名座席。

当新冠肺炎危机在 2020 年初袭来时,Altron 就像世界上成千上万的公司一样,发现自己必须对其日常工作实践做出重大改变。几乎在一夜之间,该公司的服务台座席不得不转向居家工作,这一举措带来了许多后勤和技术挑战。Altron 的许多座席住在缺乏宽带基础设施的社区。为了克服这一问题,该公司为他们提供了配备 3G/4G 调制解调器的笔记本电脑,以便通过本地蜂窝网络实现互联网连接性。在座席的笔记本电脑上运行 Genesys 座席软件将使他们能够处理呼叫并执行其日常任务,就像他们在办公室一样。

从理论上讲,在这种情况下,这看起来是一个很好的解决方案。然而,不久之后,问题开始出现。Altron 发现,拨打到服务台的大量电话掉线或出现不可预测的语音质量问题。据透露,语音呼叫(使用未压缩的 G.711 编解码器)所消耗的额外带宽使蜂窝数据基础架构不堪重负。显然,这种情况不能再继续下去了。

“我们的客户一开始都很理解,但我们知道,如果通话质量和可靠性得不到改善,客户会逐渐失去耐心,”Altron 总经理服务管理部门的 Ralph Smit 解释道。“我们必须做出决定——是让所有人都回到办公室,还是寻找技术解决方案?”

挑战

  • 有限的带宽连接会导致呼叫掉话

    有限的带宽连接会导致呼叫掉话

  • 需要与 Genesys 远程座席解决方案完全集成

    需要与 Genesys 远程座席解决方案完全集成

  • 最大限度地减少对服务台座席的干扰

    最大限度地减少对服务台座席的干扰

“得益于奥科的 WebRTC 解决方案,我们的座席才得以继续在家中安全地工作,从而为我们的客户提供越来越高的服务水平。”

Gary Room,Altron Systems Integration 业务部经理

解决方案

考虑到在新冠肺炎形势持续的情况下,让其座席返回办公室工作所涉及的健康风险,技术解决方案是到目前为止对 Altron 更具吸引力的选择。Altron 的 IT 团队联系了奥科,这是一家值得信赖的语音解决方案供应商,Altron 已经与该公司合作多年。

奥科提出了一种基于 WebRTC 技术的创新解决方案。WebRTC(Web 实时通信)通过简单的应用程序编程接口(API)为 Web 浏览器和移动应用程序提供实时通信(RTC)。它通过允许直接的点对点通信,消除安装插件或下载本地应用的需要,使音频和视频通信可以在网页内运行。WebRTC 使用高度通用的 Opus 音频编解码器,无论网络条件如何,都能提供高质量的语音。

奥科的 WebRTC 解决方案包括三个要素:

  • WebRTC 网关与奥科市场领先的 SBC 完全集成,SBC 在 WebRTC 流和基于外部 SIP 的系统之间进行调解,在 Altron 的案例中,可以实现 Genesys 联络中心平台与座席的 WebRTC 客户端之间的通信
  • WebRTC 客户端可以在任何标准 Web 浏览器中运行,无需下载特别的软件
  • 会话边界控制器(SBC)用于在座席和外部环境之间提供可靠和安全的语音连接。

奥科的 WebRTC 解决方案为 Altron 提供了几项重要优点:

  • 基于 Opus 编解码器的可靠且高质量的语音通信——降低带宽消耗,减轻了本地蜂窝数据网络的压力,从而减少掉话次数并提高质量
  • WebRTC 网关与奥科虚拟化 Mediant VE SBC 完全集成 ——简化部署和管理,确保强大的安全性并提供可靠的语音转码
  • 与 Genesys 联络中心解决方案和远程座席桌面客户端紧密集成——确保 WFH 座席可以继续无缝操作,并享受与身处办公室相同的用户体验
  • 高度安全的解决方案——默认情况下,所有 WebRTC 通信都是经过加密的,Mediant VE SBC 可确保免受网络攻击的侵害

  • Mediant VE/SE

    Mediant VE/SE

    适用于希望在商务服务器硬件上虚拟化其基础设施并协调其数据中心的企业和服务提供商的可扩展解决方案。

    发现更多
  • Secure WebRTC Gateway

    Secure WebRTC Gateway

    奥科 WebRTC 网关在 WebRTC 客户端和现有 VoIP 部署之间提供无缝连接。

    发现更多

结果

Altron 使用 Mediant VE 虚拟化 SBC 及其嵌入式 WebRTC 网关部署了奥科的 WebRTC 解决方案。奥科与 Genesys 的集成以及该解决方案的纯软件性意味着一切都可以在很短的时间内启动并运行。

而且效果相当显著。Altron 及其座席和客户从第一天起就开始注意到呼叫的可靠性和质量的巨大改进。自从将其座席转移到 WFH 模式以来,一直困扰着 Altron 服务台的掉话呼叫几乎在一夜之间消失了。

“得益于奥科的 WebRTC 解决方案,我们的座席才得以继续在家中安全地工作,从而为我们的客户提供越来越高的服务水平,”Altron Systems Integration 业务部经理 Gary Room 表示。“奥科的 WebRTC 解决方案无需更改我们已建立的技术堆栈,就确保了我们提供的服务与我们仍在办公室工作时一样可靠。”

 

联系我们

Altron Systems Integration

Altron Systems Integration

AudioCodes' WebRTC solution delivers high quality and reliable voice communications for a Genesys-based service desk operation

Background

Based in South Africa, Altron Systems Integration is a specialist provider, leveraging world-class technology and leading practices to architect, implement and support sustainable ICT-based business solutions which are strategically aligned, fit for purpose, cost effective and optimized for performance.

For more information visit the company website.

Challenges

One of Altron System Integration’s main areas of activity is running an outsourced IT service desk for employees of several corporate customers. The service desk operation runs on top of an on-premises Genesys PureEngage contact center infrastructure and employs around 180 agents in Altron’s offices in Johannesburg.

When the Covid-19 crisis hit early in 2020, Altron, like thousands of companies around the world, found itself having to make drastic changes to its day-to-day working practices. Almost overnight, the company’s service desk agents had to shift to working from home, a move which raised a number of logistical and technological challenges. Many of Altron’s agents lived in neighborhoods that lacked broadband infrastructure. To overcome this, the company supplied them with laptops equipped with 3G/4G modems to enable internet connectivity over the local cellular networks. Running the Genesys agent software on their laptops would enable the agents to handle calls and perform their everyday tasks just as if they were located in the office.

On paper, this looked like a great solution under the circumstances. However, soon afterwards, problems started to emerge. Altron discovered that a significant number of calls made to the service desk were dropping or suffering from unpredictable voice quality. It transpired that the extra bandwidth being consumed by the voice calls (using the uncompressed G.711 codec) was overloading the cellular data infrastructure. Clearly, this was a situation that could not continue.

“Our customers were understanding at the beginning, but we knew that wouldn’t last if the call quality and reliability didn’t improve,” explained Ralph Smit, GM Service Management at Altron. “We had to make a decision – do we bring everyone back to the office or look for a technological solution?”

Challenges

  • Limited bandwidth connections lead to dropped calls

    Limited bandwidth connections lead to dropped calls

  • Required full integration with Genesys remote agent solution

    Required full integration with Genesys remote agent solution

  • Minimize disruption to service desk operation

    Minimize disruption to service desk operation

“Thanks to AudioCodes' WebRTC solution, our agents have been able to continue working safely from home delivering the high levels of service our customers have grown to expect.”

Gary Room, Business Unit Manager at Altron Systems Integration

Solution

Given the health risks involved in returning its agents to office-based working while the Covid-19 situation continued, a technological solution was by far the more attractive option for Altron. Altron’s IT team contacted AudioCodes, a trusted vendor of voice-related solutions with whom Altron had been working for several years.

AudioCodes proposed an innovative solution based on WebRTC technology. WebRTC (Web Real-Time Communication) provides web browsers and mobile applications with real-time communication (RTC) via simple application programming interfaces (APIs). It allows audio and video communication to work inside web pages by allowing direct peer-to-peer communication, eliminating the need to install plugins or download native apps. WebRTC uses the highly versatile Opus audio codec which is able to deliver high voice quality regardless of network conditions.

AudioCodes’ WebRTC solution comprises three elements:

  • WebRTC gateway, fully integrated with AudioCodes’ market-leading SBC that mediates between WebRTC streams and external SIP-based systems, enabling, in Altron’s case, communication between the Genesys contact center platform and the agents’ WebRTC clients
  • WebRTC client running in any standard web browser and requiring no special software download
  • Session border controller (SBC) to deliver reliable and secure voice connectivity between the agents and the outside world.

AudioCodes’ WebRTC solution offers several important benefits for Altron:

  • Reliable, high quality voice communications based on the Opus codec – reduced bandwidth consumption alleviates the strain on local cellular data networks leading to fewer dropped calls and improved quality
  • WebRTC gateway fully integrated with AudioCodes virtualized Mediant VE SBC – simplifying deployment and management, ensuring robust security and offering reliable voice transcoding
  • Tight integration with Genesys contact center solutions and remote agent desktop client – ensuring WFH agents can continue operating seamlessly and enjoying the same user experience as if they were still physically located in the office
  • Highly secure solution – all WebRTC communications are encrypted by default, and Mediant VE SBC ensures protection from cyber-attacks

  • Mediant VE/SE

    Mediant VE/SE

    Scalable solution for enterprises and service providers looking to virtualize their infrastructure and harmonize their datacenters on commodity server hardware.

    Discover More
  • Secure WebRTC Gateway

    Secure WebRTC Gateway

    The AudioCodes WebRTC gateway provides seamless connectivity between WebRTC clients and existing VoIP deployments.

    Discover More

Results

Altron deployed AudioCodes’ WebRTC solution using the Mediant VE virtualized SBC with its embedded WebRTC gateway. AudioCodes’ integration with Genesys and the software-only nature of the solution meant that everything could be up and running in a very short timeframe.

And the results were quite remarkable. Altron, its agents and customers began to notice huge improvements in call reliability and quality from day one. The dropped calls that had been plaguing Altron’s service desk ever since moving its agents to WFH mode virtually disappeared overnight.

“Thanks to AudioCodes' WebRTC solution, our agents have been able to continue working safely from home delivering the high levels of service our customers have grown to expect,” said Gary Room, Business Unit Manager at Altron Systems Integration. “Without having to change our established technology stack, AudioCodes’ WebRTC solution has ensured that the service we provide is as reliable as it would be if we were still working from the office.”

 

Get in touch